State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF CHANGES
California Horse Racing Board WITHOUT REGULATORY EFFECT

Regulatory Action:
California Code of Regulations, Title 1,
Title 04, California Code of Regulations Section 100

Amend sections: 1632
OAL Matter Number: 2023-1016-05

OAL Matter Type: Nonsubstantive (N)

This action makes changes without regulatory effect increasing the jockey losing mount
fees by the percentage increase of the state minimum wage pursuant to Business and
Professions Code section 19501.

OAL approves this change without regulatory effect as meeting the requirements of
California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 100.
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Date: November 30, 2023

Anna Thomas
Attorney

For: Kenneth J. Pogue
Director

Original: Scott Chaney, Executive
Director
Copy:  Amanda Drummond
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 4. BUSINESS REGULATIONS
DIVISION 4. CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
ARTICLE 6. ENTRIES AND DECLARATIONS
AMENDMENT TO
RULE 1632. JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE
Rule 1632. Jockey’s Riding Fee.
(a) Winning jockey riding fees in the absence of a contract or special agreement
are 10% of the Win Purse.
(1) The purpose of subsection (a) is not to set a minimum or maximum fee. It
provides a fee if the parties have not made a written agreement to the contrary.
(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (a) are payable in the lower purse range until
the next higher purse range is reached, unless there is a written agreement to the

contrary.

(b) Jockey riding fees for losing mounts are:

Gross Purse Losing Mount

$100,000 and UP: ...oocvvvreececee i $261-53269.97
50,000-99,999: ...ttt 24340219.97
25,000-49,999: ... 484.03189.97
15,000-24,999: ............cceee. e eeeeeaeaanaaae 164.64169.95
10,000—-14,999: ... 154-97159.97
Lessthan $10,000: .........coceeeeieeiieiiieeeeeeeeeee 445.29149.98

(1) The purpose of subsection (b) is to set a minimum, but not a maximum riding
fee. No non-winning jockey shall be paid less than the riding fee set forth in subsection
(b).

(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (b) are payable in the lower purse range until

the next higher purse range is reached unless there is a written agreement to the contrary.



However, no such written agreement shall reduce the minimum required by subsection
(b).

(3) To determine the horse owner's place purse or show purse when calculating
non-winning jockey riding fees, the Paymaster of Purses shall use the purse agreement
provided in the Horsemen's Agreement for the réce meeting at which the jockeys earned
such fees. The losing mount fee shall be paid as provided under subsection (b) of this
rule.

(4) For horse races with gross purses between $10,000 and $100,000 and up, a
minimum of five percent of the horse owner's place purse or show purse plus $10.00 shall
be used when calculating the second place and third place non-winning jockey riding fees.

(5) If the losing mount fee is equal to or greater than the third place mount fée, the
Paymaster 6f Purses shall adjust the mount fees so that the third place mount shall earn
at minimum $2 more than the losing mounf, and the second place mount shall earn at
minimum $2 more than the third place mount.

(c) A jockey's fee is considered earned when the jockey is weighed out by the clerk
of scales. The fee shall not be considered earned if the j‘ockey elects to take himself off
of his mount. If there is a substitution of jockeys, no additional jockey fee or double jockey
fee need be paid except when ordered by the stewards.

(d) In this rule “Win Purse” means the amount paid the winning horse less the fees
paid exclusively by the owner to enter the horse in the race;

(1) Entry, nomination or other fees paid shall not be deducted from a jockey riding

fee if such fees are paid or reimbursed by any person or entity other than the owner.



(é) If the parties agree on the fee to be paid the jockey, a contract or agreement in
writing signed by the jockey or his agent and the owner or his authorized agent specifying
the agreed upon fee if a winning mount, second place mount, third place mount and losing
mount shall be delivered to the paymaster of purses before the running of the race in
question. The paymaster of purses shall debit the owner's purse account under the
contract or written agreement. If no contract or written agreement is submitted before the
running of the race in question, the paymaster of purses shall debit the owner's purse
account under the fee scale set forth in this rule.

(f) A jockey may not share in the fees of another jockey.

Authority:  Sections 19440, 19501 and 19562,
Business and Professions Code.

Reference: Sections 19401(a), 19401(d), 19420, 19440, 19501 and 19502,
Business and Professions Code.





