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M e m o r a n d u m 
 
Date : February 17, 2021 
 
To : CHRB Licensed Trainers and Assistant Trainers 
   
Subject: Regulatory Addition of Board Rule 1503.5 
 
 
The following addition to the California Horse Racing Board (Board) Rules and 
Regulations was approved by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) and became 
effective on February 4, 2021. 
 
Board Rule 1503.5, Continuing Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers.  Board 
Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, an applicant for renewal of license 
as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the preceding 36-month period, they 
have completed a total of 12 hours of approved continuing education (ACE) coursework.  
Completion of 12 hours of ACE coursework is now a precondition of license renewal for 
trainers and assistant trainers. 
 
A current list of ACE coursework is available at all Board offices and on the Board’s 
website: http://www.chrb.ca.gov/CE_webinars.html.  The list includes the hours credited for 
each ACE course and information about accessing the course material.  Once a licensee 
completes a course, the licensee shall maintain evidence of completed ACE coursework 
for a period of four years from the date of completion and shall provide records of 
completion to the Board upon request.  Completed ACE coursework may be recorded on 
a form provided by an ACE course, meeting or conference, or shall otherwise be recorded 
on a form CHRB-242, Continuing Education Certificate of Attendance (New 12/20), which 
is available at all Board offices and on the Board’s website.   
 
When a licensee applies to renew a license for trainer or assistant trainer, they are now 
required to present certification of completed ACE coursework for the preceding 36-month 
period, pursuant to subsection 1503.5(a), or to present a waiver from the requirements of 
subsection 1503.5(a).  Certification of completion of ACE coursework shall be provided 
on form CHRB-59a, Certification of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Coursework 
(New 12/20).  The CHRB-59a is available at all Board offices and on the Board’s website.  
A CHRB-59a shall be submitted with the application for renewal of license. 
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Board Rule 1503.5 allows licensees to request two types of waivers from the 
requirements of 1503.5(a): a wavier pursuant to subsection 1503.5(e) for licensees not 
domiciled in California and having twelve or fewer starts in races in California during the 
previous 36-month period (excluding stakes races); and a waiver pursuant to subsection 
1503.5(f) for good cause as defined in subsection 1503.5(f)(2). 
 
Requests for waivers pursuant to subsection 1503.5(e) shall be submitted to the Board 
of Stewards at least 14 days before the time of application for renewal of license on a 
form CHRB-59b, Request for Waiver of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) 
Requirements (New 12/20).  The CHRB-59b is available at all Board offices and on the 
Board’s website.  If approved, the signed CHRB-59b shall then be submitted with the 
application for renewal of license. 
 
Requests for waivers pursuant to subsection 1503.5(f) shall be submitted to the Board of 
Stewards at least 14 days before the time of application for renewal of license on form 
CHRB-59c, Request for Waiver of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Requirements 
for Good Cause (New 12/20), which is available at all Board offices and on the Board’s 
website.  If approved, the signed CHRB-59c shall then be submitted with the application 
for renewal of license.  If a waiver for good cause is granted, the licensee has an additional 
12 months to complete the required 12 hours of ACE coursework and submit a form 
CHRB-59a to the Board. 
 
Commencing June 1, 2021, failure to provide a certification of completed ACE coursework 
pursuant to subsection 1503.5(a), or a waiver pursuant to subsections 1503.5(e) or 
1503.5(f), at the time of application will result in denial of license renewal. 
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      CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

ARTICLE 4. OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES 
PROPOSED ADDITION OF 

1503.5. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR TRAINERS AND ASSISTANT TRAINERS 
 
 

1503.5. Continuing Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers 

(a) Commencing June 1, 2021, an applicant for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer 

shall certify that during the preceding 36-month period, he or she has completed a total of 12 hours of 

approved continuing education (ACE) coursework. 

(1) Certification of completion of ACE coursework shall be provided on the form CHRB-59a 

Certification of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Coursework (New 09/19), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference.  The CHRB-59a shall be submitted with the application for renewal of 

license.  

(b) Licensees shall maintain evidence of completed ACE coursework for a period of four years 

from the date the course was completed and shall provide such records of completion to the Board 

upon request.  Records of completed ACE coursework may be in a form provided by an ACE course, 

meeting or conference, or shall otherwise be recorded on the form CHRB-242 Continuing Education 

Certificate of Attendance (New 9/19), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  The CHRB-242 shall 

be available at all CHRB offices and on the Board’s website.  Any record of completed ACE coursework 

shall state at least: 

(1) The title of the ACE course, meeting or conference; 

(2) The date, location and provider of the ACE course, meeting or conference; 

(3) The number of continuing education hours earned.  

(c) Unless a waiver is granted under subsection (e) of this regulation, an application for license 

renewal will be denied if form CHRB-59a is not submitted and/or for failure to produce records of 

completed ACE coursework should such records be requested by the Board at the time of renewal. 

(d) The stewards shall fine and/or suspend or revoke the license of any applicant for renewal of 
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license as trainer or assistant trainer who is found to have provided false certification of completed ACE 

coursework or who fails to produce records of completed ACE coursework upon the Board’s request.   

(e) The stewards shall waive the ACE requirements for applicants for renewal of license as 

trainer or assistant trainer if the trainer or assistant trainer is not domiciled in California and has had 

twelve or fewer starts in races in California during the previous 36-month period.  Stakes races shall 

not be counted in the number of starts. 

(1) Requests for ACE waivers shall be submitted to the Board of Stewards at the time of 

application for renewal of license on the form CHRB-59b Request for Waiver of Approved Continuing 

Education (ACE) Requirements (New 09/19), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  

 (2) The ACE requirements may be waived at the time of application for good cause conditioned 

upon the completion of the ACE requirements within a timeframe not to exceed 12 months from the 

date of renewal of license. 

(A) “Good cause” includes but is not limited to a change in the licensee’s state of domicile or not 

having acted as a trainer or assistant trainer for an extended period. 

 (3) A waiver for good cause shall be made using a recommendation card form CHRB-59 (Rev. 

12/15), which shall be signed by the stewards. 

(4) Denial of a waiver will result in the applicant being ineligible for renewal of license until he or 

she has completed the requirements of subsection (a) of this regulation.  

(f) The Equine Medical Director (EMD), in consultation with the California Thoroughbred 

Trainers, shall submit proposed ACE curriculum to the Board for approval.  

(1) Subsequent to the presentation required under subsection (f), the EMD may modify the Board 

approved ACE course list to: 

(A) add new coursework offerings, or 

(B) remove discontinued coursework.  

(2)  A current listing of Board approved ACE courses shall be available at all CHRB offices and 
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on the Board’s website.  The list shall include the hours credited to each ACE course. 

(A) The hours credited to an ACE course shall be assigned by the EMD, and shall be determined 

by factors including, but not limited to, difficulty of subject matter, expected learning outcomes and the 

actual time necessary to complete the ACE course.  

 (3) If a licensee has completed ACE coursework, and the course is subsequently removed from 

the listing of Board approved ACE courses, the ACE course completed by the licensee will satisfy the 

requirements under subsection (a) of this regulation.   

(g) For the purposes of this regulation, ACE coursework means instruction intended to foster 

competence and knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes: compliance with 

California’s horse racing law and regulations; equine health, safety, and welfare in racing; or ethics, 

human resource training, and the promotion of human safety and welfare. 

 
 
Authority:  Sections 19420, 19440, 19460 and 19520, 
  Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 19420 and 19440, 
  Business and Professions Code. 

 
 


